newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-01-16 @ 4:15 p.m.

pella dream


I almost forgot...

So I had a Pella dream last night. It�s similar to one I�ve had before. I went onto showbizjobs.com and found an ad for a personal assistant for a modern rock/pop acapella group based in NYC. So I sent in a resume and got called in for an interview. I met with Phil alone the first day. The address was a brownstone in the city which I thought was kinda weird. I dressed a little layed back � nice dress pants and a long sweater with no blouse under it (all black like I usually wear) as opposed to a suit. Phil looked like he thought he knew who I was, but wasn�t sure and didn�t say anything to me and I wasn�t too sure it was him either. He never mentioned the name of the group I was interviewing for, just went over the logistics of the job and how time consuming it would be blah blah blah. Basically just asking me the normal job interview questions (why should we hire you, etc).

Then I got called back for a 2nd interview at the same place where I met with all of the band. When I got there wearing the same out fit again (b/c that is what you are supposed to do on interviews and auditions) Kevin answered the door wearing blue jeans and a blue and white sweater. He recognized me right away and said �hey! What are you doing here� � but in a voice like �how did you get this address�. I said I was there for an interview and his face relaxed and he said �oh really? Cool!� and he led me thru a beige hallway that seemed like 1 mile long into a room full of windows and very bright with sunshine. George, Scott and Jeff were sitting on a long navy blue couch. Elliott was sitting in a big brown chair Indian style. Kevin went and sat on a smaller navy blue couch. Phil entered and gave me a glass of water and asked me to sit in this really hard looking brown chair (which ended up being really uncomfortable) and he joined Kevin on the smaller couch. They drilled me with the normal questions that Phil had already asked. They said they were hesitant b/c I was groupie, but that they were impressed with my resume and had already called my references which were all glowing. This lasted for about 1 hour and � with the questions. They went around the room one at a time for about 4 rounds of questions then they just started asking them randomly and all the time taking notes. They were work questions and personality questions (ie: what is my fav color, what other groups do I listen to, about my family and my family life). The last thing I had to do was tell a joke (I wish I could remember what joke I told), but they all laughed. Then Jeff walked me to the door and as I left he whispered �you did great� and closed the door. I walked down the block and was in the theatre district and decided I was going to go to TKTS and go see Oklahoma. While I was waiting on line my cell rang and it was Phil asking me what I was doing right now. I said waiting on line at TKTS. He asked if I bought tickets yet and if I was with anyone. I said �no and no�. He said good, can you come back here now? I said sure and went back. This time Jeff answered the door and said �see, I told you you did great�. I was brought back into the room with the couches and I was hired by Pella as their Personal Assistant and Fan Club President. They were paying me $52K a year and $2 for Phil. I remember thinking, wow, $10K per pella � lol. Anyhoo, they had an office �headquarters� in the city, which was basically the room I was in � I was in Scotts brownstone and didn�t even know it. I had to go there everyday from 10am-6pm whenever they weren�t on the road. When they were on the road, I drove the van and was in charge of making sure they had water, that their clothes were ironed and that they had whatever food for after the show and whatever �specials� they wanted. Scott always had to have a bag of lemon Riccolla and George wanted a BIG bag of M&M�s every night. I don�t recall if the others had anything special. I also had to make sure that they each knew their itineraries. I didn�t schedule them, I just did the follow ups. I had to sign a lot of paper work (regular job papers, but then others like a release saying my pic and name could be used, a confidentiality contract, and shit like that). Then they each hugged me and congratulated me and Scott and Kevin and Phil took me to dinner (I don�t know where Jeff, George and Elliott had to go) to celebrate. And that�s what I remember. Hee hee�.cool dream.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com