newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-02-04 @ 9:35 a.m.

I'm a mess but loved


So Friday I go to Physical Therapy thinking it'll be good for my back before the show. I was wrong. I go and things are great and I'm feeling good. I go to stand up from the table from I'm done and I COULD NOT STAND UP. I tried to take a step to walk and I couldn't move my leg forward. I could not hold myself up on my own. I had to lean against the table. One of the assistants looks at me and says "Madelin, you know you are done and can leave right?". I said "I know, but I'm really in alot of pain and just kinda waiting to see if it passes". I knew I was gonna cry, but was holding it back. He looks at me and asks if I want him to get Scott (my therapist). I say that that might be a good idea. I start to get myself back on the table using the step stool because I couldn't lift myself up either just as Scott comes over. I must have twisted or turned or something getting off the table and my disc literally inflamed like a balloon. I was lying there crying like a baby in the middle of the office. I didn't know what to do. I was in so much pain and I was so scared. Scott was so nice and tried really hard to make me feel better and make me smile. Same with the nice man on the table next to me that has been seeing Scott for like 3 mo now. Finally, after Scott worked on me for like an hour, I was able to stand and walk. I missed the first act of the show. Actually, I got there, but didn't do the first act. I only did the 2nd act b/c it only really involved standing and singing, and standing was the best and easiest thing for me. But the time the show was over, I was back to just my normal daily pain and I felt much better. That night I guess all the stress from it really caught up to me and I basically cried myself to sleep b/c I was so upset over the whole thing. When I went back yesterday, Scott was so relieved to see me. He thought I was gonna bail on him after that. And the assist. who first helped me came over and was like "so, you're back for more hey?". I am cancelling my Friday appts. PT kills me and all I want to do is go home after it, not go do a show.

This morning I woke up with a terrible sore throat. I call the pharmacy to ask if there is anything I can take for it while I'm on the Celebrex and Ultracet. His answer. NO. Riccola is gonna love me by the end of this week. Thank goodness I get free juice from across the hall. I'm just gonna overload on liquids.

Auditioned for Godspell on Saturday morning. I thought I did really well. The directer et al obviously did not b/c I did not get a callback. Oh well. Most likely (at least I'm telling myself this is why) I didn't is b/c of my back. Godspell is a very physical show and I really shouldn't (and wouldn't be able to give my all) be doing it now. I think this is God's way of telling me to take a little break since I've been going for a year straight of shows back to back.

ON A GOOD NOTE - LA!

Jenn, Paula and Louise all came and saw me on Saturday and it made me so happy. They came to Applebee's after the show with some theatre friends which is always an experience.

And then yesterday morning I was late to work b/c I was so tired I had a migraine. Donna, Jenn and Amy all got worried about me b/c they hadn't seen me on line. So Donna and Jenn both called me to find out where I was and if I was okay. They were worried about me. Donna and I do it all the time for eachother and I never take it for granted and never tell her how much it means to me...I know she'll read this so she'll know now..I love you girl. But I didn't expect it from Jenn (and Amy). When I got the v/m on the way home from work, I literally started crying b/c it made me feel so good. Thank you girls. I love you both too.

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com