newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-06-23 @ 11:45 a.m.

Maine is a comin ...


Slight change of plans for Maine. I was discussing it with 2 different people on Saturday at 2 separate times, and with my parents on Sunday, and they all said the same thing. Leaving on Friday is crazy unless we leave by like 5am. I was going to push for 7am, but that is still taking a chance. I�ve been stuck in traffic on I95 during the summer on a NON holiday Friday (going upstate it took 6 hours to go what should have been a 3 hour ride max). It SUCKED. Anyway, one of my friends that I was talking to on Saturday goes to Maine all the time b/c she has a lot of friends of family up there and she was telling me that 4th of July is huge weekend in Freeport, Maine (where we are going) and that if we don�t seriously get on the road by like 5:30 � 6:00 am, you might as well not even bother going b/c by the time you get up there you�ll have turn around get back. LOL.

So, Jenn and I discussed it yesterday afternoon (no one else who is going was around) and we decided that it might be better to leave Thursday after work instead. (If we left Friday at 7am, that means Jenn would have to get up at like 4am to be at my house for 7am). She could work even � a day on Thursday, Paula and I can still work full days (though it�s a holiday so I�ll get out at 3 instead of 5 woo hoo!) b/c we probably wouldn�t leave here till after rush hour � about 7pm. I know we are still going to hit traffic. I�m just praying it�ll be less than if we left on Friday. Besides, Jenn, Paula and I are definitely NOT morning people.

The other group of girls who unfortunately have to drive in a separate car do not want to go up the night before, due to their own reasons which are not a necessity to discuss here in an open forum. I understand where they are coming from and we�ll all see each other when we get up there. (What happened was we started thinking about the actual transportation part of this plan too late � beg of June � and we could not find a van/car big enough to carry all 7 of us that we could actually afford. Everything was at least $100/a day. Now, if that was unlimited mileage, it wouldn�t have been SO bad, but none of the places that had a van for us offered unlimited mileage, and that would just not work. Once you have to start watching your mileage, esp on vacation, it puts too much pressure on you, especially when trying to keep the paying out of fundage to a low. So, we had to split of into 2 groups and rent cars separately. Fortunately for my group, my mom offered her car to us. It fits 5, but not 7. The other girls have to unfortunately rent a car b/c none of them have a car (although I have to admit that I�m still a little confused on how Laura�s car can make it to Montreal but not Maine, but then again, it�s not my car, so what the heck do I know ... lol).

I�m not looking forward to not being able to see the road and sites on the way up there, but I�ll get to see them on the way back (Lord knows how long that will take!). Hey, I could be totally wrong about the traffic on Friday morning and the other car will breeze up there in the 6 hours it should take. I hope for their sakes I am wrong�but I am not wanting to take that chance. I get very cranky and pissy in traffic ... at least if I hit it on Thursday night I can go right to sleep when I get there and sleep it off and not piss off 6 other people. HEHE.

OH, before I go: Snapple Real Fact #114: The oldest known animal was a tortoise, which lived to be 152 years old.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com