newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-07-17 @ 11:52 a.m.

Waiting .. waiting .. waiting to be seen


My alarm goes off at 5:09 AM and I snoozed until 5:55 AM when I HAD to get my ass out of bed and get going. Luckily I was actually smart and showered, layed out of clothes and got my bag ready with my headshot and resume and stuff the night before. Got up, did my morning stuff, got dressed, did my hair and was at the train station early (EARLY??? who knew?). I actually had time to slap on a little makeup while I waited on the platform on steady ground (as opposed to the moving train where it normally gets applied). I was at the AEA space at exactly 8:00 AM as planned. I didn�t see any signs on the outside door, so I walked down the line to see if Sarah was on line � holy crap the line! The AEA space is only a few doors off 7th on 46th. The line went all the way down 46th and started to go around the corner onto 6th which is where I got on line. The people on line around me were amazed at how long the line was esp for a show that isn�t even on bdway anymore. There is a church about � of the way up 46th that they said usually the line doesn�t go past that. I thought about leaving but I was like, if I�m here, I might as well stay and I�ll be so mad if I leave and non-eq gets seen. I got about � way towards the door and Sarah showed up and I let her jump on line with me. I didn�t feel bad about it b/c A- the guy behind me just jumped on line with his friends about 2 min before Sarah showed up and B- there was only like maybe 10 people behind me on line at this point. So we get inside, go upstairs and sign up on the Non-Equity list. We are numbers 21 and 22. We sat down with a friend of Sarah�s from school and waited. The next to me sitting down came all the way up from Baltimore! Some guy helping run the aud comes out (in a very cool western themed shirt might I add) and tell us that if we want, we can leave and come back around 10:30-11:00 to see if they were going to be able to see us today. What happens is Equity people come in and sign up. Once all the time slots are taken up, the remaining equity people go on an equity alternate list (which any equity person can sign up on at any time of the day all day long). It�s only after all those people are seen that they will go to the non-equity alternates. Well, we sat and waited. Same guy comes out a little later and says that he can practically guarantee that they will not see us today. There are only 164 aud slots and there were already over 200 equity people signed up and its only 9:15am but if we want to wait, they might decide to take our headshots and resumes. So we stay. A little later the actual casting director comes out himself and talks to us. Tells us basically the same thing that the other guy did and then says he WILL take our headshots and resumes and will definitely look through them. He was soooo nice. As he was collecting them he was talking to us telling us �to hold tight and don�t give up. We were all sitting on these benches ourselves at one time. I remember sitting there myself.� He seemed genuinely upset that we wouldn�t be seen. So, we handed in our stuff and left. I caught the 9:55am Long Beach (bonus!!) train home and now I�m back at work by 11:05am. It was worth going just for the experience alone, finding out how it all works for when I go on another equity call and knowing that the casting director himself has my headshot and res in his hands. I think I might write him a letter thanking him for being so nice. Couldn't hurt to kiss a little casting directors ass..hehehe.....

OH, while we were sitting there Sarah was looking thru backstage and the NETworks non-equity tour of Oliver! is still looking for a Mrs. Sowerberry. Hmmm. I�ve chickened out twice on this call already, maybe it�s a sign that I should go?? It�s non-equity, but its Cam Mac so it could be a foot in the door? Hmmm�..

And that concludes my first experience attending an equity call.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com