newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-08-05 @ 11:12 p.m.

my bro's mother in law.


Entry #2 today � and not all good.

My day went really well today � pretty relaxed. Mom made me breakfast to take to work � low carbs and yummy. I got to work ON TIME. Boss� left at 3pm. Went to the gym and b/c I�ve been going pretty steady it�s getting easier and less painful. Went to see American Wedding and didn�t get soda, popcorn and m&m�s. To make up for it I got Pizza Hut and a salad for dinner. Got home to watch the finale of Last Comic Standing and Queer Eye for The Straight Guy. But when I get home my mom tells me the bad news of my brothers mother-in-law. Let me give you some backround: Gretty (my bro�s mom-in-law) lives in Wisconsin. About 2 years ago she was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. She had surgery and went to Radiology and Chemo and was recovering just fine. A few years ago she went for a doc visit and they found a spot on her lung. They went to surgery and closed her right back up b/c there was too much cancer. She went to radiology (did not want to do chemo again) and it was working. 30% of the cancer had been killed so far. A few weeks ago she was complaining of serious back pain. So back to the hospital to find out she has a tumor on her spine. There is basically nothing they can do b/c the cnacer has spread so much. So, now when I got home tonight, my mom tells me that my bro called and that Gretty has gotten much worse and she has been giving a couple of days to 2 weeks to live. My bro was hysterical on the phone. His wife is flying out there first thing in the morning. My brother is driving out there either tomorrow or Thursday with the dog. Then about 15 min ago my bro calls to tell me that they don�t know if Gretty is even going to make it thru the night. Oh boy. My poor brother - he is very close with his inlaws. And my sil, god, I can't even imagine what she is going thru. My mom is my rock. I mean, watching your mom die. I just don't think I could handle that. I think of when Donna's mom died (who was my 2nd mom) and at least she went fast and in her sleep, practically unexpected). Not that anyone is ever lucky when a parent dies, but at least she didn't have to watch her slowly die. I would lose it completely, I know it.

My parents are going to fly out there for the funeral, but I don�t know if I have to. I mean, if it was in NY or somewhere that I could drive a few hours to, I would def go. But fly to WI?? Do I have to? Does anyone know what is the proper etiquette here??? I mean, not that I want to sound cheap here � but airfare and hotel is not cheap. My parents would prob pick up the hotel bill, but they can�t do the airfare as well. They are going to Florida for 2 weeks on Tuesday and have to pay for all that. I just don�t know what I�m supposed to do.

Anyone???


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com