newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-10-15 @ 1:16 p.m.

A Scotsman and 16 Candles


2nd entry today:

I was looking thru drawers last night and I came upon a pic of me from the Renaissance Festival that I will scan and post later. But finding that picture made me go thru my pictures at www.pbase.com/madelin16 and every time I do it reminds me why I take and save pics. It brings back such good memories. For instance, I saw this pic:

and it reminded me of one of my favorite times at the Renaissance Festival. It was my 3rd year in the Festival, 2nd year as a singing wench. Steve had come up to see us and we pulled him up for one of our songs. Now I have the song stuck in my head. I don�t really know how �period� of a piece it is, but Dr. Demento also sings a version of it. LOL. A little backround: when Donna and I were just partrons at the Festival, the wenches sang this song called �The Scotsman� and we loved it. It was one of our fav�s that they sang. The year we got in, it wasn�t on the list of songs to learn. So when the next year came around, Donna and I went out and found a Dr. Demento cassette with the song on it, listened to it ENDLESSLY for days upon days to memorize it, get the tune down and alter it a bit to fit the wenches singing style. It was so much fun.

Well, a Scotsman clad in kilt left a bar one evenin� fair

And one could tell by how he walked that he drank more than his share

He fumbled �round until he could no longer keep his feet

Then he stumbled off into the grass to sleep beside the street

Ring ding diddle iddle eye-de-oh, ring da diddly eye-oh

He stumbled off into the grass to sleep beside the street

About that time 2 young and lovely girls just happen by

And one says to the other with a twinkle in her eye

�See young sleeping Scotsman, so strong and handsome built?

I wonder if it�s true what they don�t wear beneath their kilt�

Ring ding diddle iddle eye-de-oh, ring da diddly eye-oh

I wonder if it�s true what they don�t wear beneath their kilt

They crept up on that sleeping Scotsman quiet as can be

And lifted up his kilt about an inch so they could see

And there behold for them to view beneath his Scottish skirt

�Twas nothin� more than God had granted him upon his birth

Ring ding diddle iddle eye-de-oh, ring da diddly eye-oh

�Twas nothin� more than God had granted him upon his birth

They marveled for a moment and one said �we must be gone�

�Lets leave a present for our friend before we move along�

And as a gift they left a blue silk ribbon tied into a bow

Around the bonny star the Scot�s kilt did lift and show

Ring ding diddle iddle eye-de-oh, ring da diddly eye-oh

Around the bonny star the Scot�s kilt did lift and show

Now the Scotsman woke to natures call and stumbled toward the trees

Behind a bush he lifts his kilt and gawks at what he sees

And in a startled voice he says to what he sees before his eyes

�Lad I don�t know where ya been, but I see ya won first prize!�

Ring ding diddle iddle eye-de-oh, ring da diddly eye-oh

�Lad I don�t know where ya been, but I see ya won first prize!�

Oh, this is slightly disturbing � a sequel to �16 Candles� (one of my all time favorite movies � def in the top 10) called �32 Candles�. Here�s the link http://www.eonline.com/News/Items/0,1,12698,00.html

Well, I think I�m done for now. Enjoy your day peeps!

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com