newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2004-03-08 @ 3:14 p.m.

There's no Randal at the end of this walk.


Friday I went and saw a pretty decent production of Jesus Christ Superstar.

Jesus (portrayed by new friend Jimmy) was wonderful. He has a great voice and he is one of the few Jesus� that I have actually seen ACT in the role. Judas (portrayed by my other new friend Mahk) was the first actor I�ve seen a long time actually understand the role. You could see and feel his torment with him. It was exciting. I would love to hear him sing Heaven on their minds while not vocally tired, b/c what I did hear I loved. Mary Magdalene has a very beautiful voice, but I felt like she had one emotion and one level of singing and one facial expression for the entire show. She kinda bored me. The guy who played Simon Zealots ROCKED his song. Herod � nothing like a big old gay man on stage. Pilot was very good. I enjoyed everything about him. Good actor, great singer. The ensemble sucked. Harmonies were missing and when they were �there� they were usually hurtful to the ears. Directorial wise I really enjoyed the concept of black and white. The whole show was costumed in black and white � when the people were �good� they were in white, when they were �bad� they were in black. At one point, right before Judas tells the priests where to find Jesus he is in all gray and when he finally decides to tell them he takes off the gray shirt and is in a black shirt. I loved it. What a great concept. Which is why I was disappointed in the song �Superstar�. Judas and his girls all were all in black for that song. It lead me to believe that Judas was bad in the end when he was singing Superstar and that isn�t really the case. He should have been in red.

Mary Magdalene was used too much and too prominent in the ensemble. I didn�t like her in being in the temple scene. I didn�t like her being one of the 3 �puff girls� (aka Superstar back up girls/soul girl for Judas). There were PLENTY of other girls on that stage (too many for such a small stage) that could have done that instead. I had a hard time telling who the 12 were (except for Judas and Mary M.) until the last supper. I don�t know if this was intentional or not, but I had no clue who was who. The choreography, for the size of the stage was great. I�ve seen one other show there (Grease) directed and choreographed by the same person and enjoyed it just as much. OOO, and I loved the lepor scene! For curtain calls they had a full ensemble bow. I would have like the 6 (Jesus, Judas, Mary, Simon, Pilot and Herod) to take one step forward and take their own bow together. And just so you all know, I am STILL a better Maid by the Fire!

Saturday Jenn and I decided to try for Wicked tickets without success (but I did get to chill with Gina for a while so that was cool!). We headed over to TKTS to stand and wait in line some more and got 5th row orch to see Fame. We were on the side, which did not suck there at all. But at intermission moved over to center orch, same row. The show was cute. Everyone had tons of energy. The ensemble worked harder than anyone in that show b/c they were the only ones who did the full ensemble numbers and dance breaks. Donna and I were better Mable�s than this one, though she was cute as a button, but not very fat � but I guess for a dancer she was fat. Ms. Sherman kicked some ass and made me cry during �These are my children�. And the chick who played Lambchop was about 5 foot nothing and a fireball of energy. Good lord. I was tired just watching her. We finished up the evening being bad and sharing a cookie desert at ESPNZone and a crazy waiter Lucien who seemed not be able to get enough of us.

Sunday I did nothing that I planned on doing but watching the Sopranos.

Tonight I will go to the gym and on the way home stop at King Kullen to get some groceries and go home and make the 0 point WW soup and the 1 point WW chili.

OH, and I looked over the Les Mis schedule for CAP and I think these are the dates I plan on going: Friday 3/12 8pm, Saturday 3/13 8pm (and staying for DDD afterwards) and Friday 3/19 8pm. If I go to those 3 shows I will see ALL the leads (both Enjolri, both Marii, both Javerts, both Mdme T�s, all 3 Eponines and all 3 Cossette�s) Whew. That is just waaay too much LM.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com