newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-03-20 @ 1:22 p.m.

Les Mis #3 for me!


Yesterday started off TERRIBLE and ended up GREAT (except for the war).

I woke up with the beginning of migraine and fought it all day. Donna called me to go to lunch and I ended up dining with Donna, Rich and Matt Rubin (yay). And Rich and Donna are so funny, they both sat together on one side of the booth so that Matt and I would sit together on the otherside..hehe. Dman him for being so young....

I get back to my office around 3:30 and check my email. Lisa has sent out an email about 3pm that she has TWO FREE tix to Les Mis for that evenings 7PM show. She happens to be online so I IM her and see if the tix are still available and free. While I wait for a response I think of who I could invite who is free at the last minute. Jenn and I had talked about going to see it twice in the past month. She has never seen it on broadway, she only saw the tour a long time ago. She was online as well so I asked her if she would be able to go. She said yes. Lisa said yes. So we met Lisa at Penn and got our tickets! This is the 3rd time I've seen the show - and I haven't paid for it once!!!! (1st time in 11/87 for Donna's sweet 16 -starring Colm Wilkinson and Terrence Mann, 2nd time 1/02 with Debbie who won tix off the radio and then Tues night). They were orchestra row O seats 2 and 4 (which are right on the aisle right of center - pretty cool seats). The show was great - it is still one of my favorite shows ever. The guy playing Jean Val Jean, Randal Keith, was absolutely AMAZING! He was sooo good. I want to go back just to see him again. He looked like Colm Wilkinson and even had very similiar vocal qualities and tones. He had absolute complete control of his voice and a range that was out of this world. DMAN. Terrence Mann was a disappointment (thank goodness I saw him 13 years ago when he ROCKED) as Javert. He didn't open his mouth to sing. He sounded like he had marbles in his mouth and you couldn't understand a word he was saying. It was disturbing b/c he has such a rich voice, and he didn't use it here. I don't know if it was a character choice or whatever, but he should stop it now. LOL. Marius, played by Kevin Kern, was so endearing. You really felt for him and he looked and had very similiar facial expressions as the one and only Kevin Wright - I could imagine exactly what Kevin Wright must have looked like portraying Marius while watching Kevin Kern - even down to the hair! He was so cute- and very good by the way. The rest of the cast was okay. Fantine (who sucked) and Eponine (who was okay) were both understudies. I saw Les Mis in Jan '02 with the Eponine (Diana Kaarina) that was out - wish we saw her b/c she was awesome. Oh well. Same Mr. Thenardiar (who was out of control on Tuesday night) and same Cosette (Sandra Turley) and same Enjolras (Christopher Mark Peterson) as last time I saw it. The Mdme Thenardiar was different and not as good as the last 2 times I saw Les Mis. I want to play Mdme Thenardiar!!!! Too bad the show is closing May 18th. Go see it if you haven't. TKTS always has tickets and the show is such a great show. You'll cry so bring tissues. Hehe.

Monday I went to a pre-banders meeting to fing out more information on the lap-band surgery. Didn't really learn anything new than what I have already learned with all the research I've done on it. But it was nice to hear it come from people who have actually had it and be with a group of people who are considering it and/or have a surgery date set up already. I'm going to the LIBandsters monthly dinner on Tuesday and the Friday I meet with the doc for the 1st time. The only two things that really bother me right now about it are: only being able to take small bites of food (like the size of you pinky fingernail)and not being able to take a big bite of something AND the chance of being depressed over not eating. But, everyone on the yahoo boards and both women the other night said they had the same fears and that you just don't miss it - everything changes. Hmm. Just trying to get as much info as I can before I make a decision. wow.

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com