newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-04-09 @ 4:19 p.m.

Being single is not a crime


Was just talking to one of my office mates and I remembered this:

So Thursday I'm at the gym and the two women in front of me on the cycle are mother and daughter and I can hear their whole conversation. The daughter was going on about how she is so thankful that she is 26 and engaged and will be married by the time she is 28, b/c if she was like her friend who is 28 and not engaged, she doesn't know what she would do. She would really start getting worried. Her and her mom went on for the FULL 30 MINTUES about how a women should be engaged by 25 or there is something wrong with you, blah blah blah, and about diamonds and diamond size and blah blah blah. I wanted so much to go over and bitch slap them both and be like "Hi, I'm Madelin, 32, single, not engaged, not dating, WAKE THE FUCK UP! YOU ARE THE TYPE WHO GIVE ALL WOMEN A BAD NAME YOU SELFISH PSYCHOPATHS!" However, I refrained. Jeez. I could have been married with kids YEARS ago, but I made a choice and I'm glad I did. I like being single. Sure, I would love a boyfriend to share things with, but I'm not going to go mental over not having one and start thinking there is something wrong with me, b/c there is not. My officemate (who is a 37 year old woman and slightly of the similiar mentality) was just talking to my bosses wife about fixing up someone who is in her 30's and single, and my officemate goes "Yeah, I gotta admit the first thing I think of when I hear a guy is in his 30's and not married is what is wrong with him?". What's wrong with HIM? What's wrong with HER. Jeez people. It's easy when you've been married for years to judge others. But I'd like to see them out there in the world dating today trying to find someone to spend your life with. It's not easy. And they forget, they didn't find their match on their first time out either. My officemate is on her second marriage. Pisses me off man.

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com