newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-05-19 @ 12:51 a.m.

Au Revoir Les Mis


OMG what an absoluuuutely amazing weekend.

Friday - went to see The Exboyfriends with Jenn, Lou and Stef. They did a lot of new stuff, which was cool (except for the screaming Rage Against the Machine Matrix mix thang they did). Dave K asked me after if it was too much screaming - I had to tell him the truth that it was JUST a bit much. Dave wouldn't stop talking! I had to say goodbye like 3 times before I finally could go. He's still the same from High School. Really hasn't changed a bit, except now he is doctor and going to Denver for 3 years starting in June - but don't fret you Exboyfriend fans - he will be coming back periodically on weekends for Sat gigs. Afterwards we had time to kill before Les Mis got out, so we went to Sephora and put on lots of makeup and glitter - it was so girly and fun. Then we I wanted to start getting as many sigs as I could on the centerpiece I made for a future Les Mis collage. I got about 3/4 of them on Friday. I got to listen to Michael McCarthy talk for a few minutes - lord that man is hot and his brittish accent - he can read the phone book to me and I'd be content. Most of the cast thought that what I made was so cool - and told me so. Hehe. So Christopher Mark Peterson (Enjolras) was the last one I got on Friday night and was completely amazed by my centerpiece (let me tell you, it ain't that exciting lol) and told me I was cool. So after he finished complimenting ME I went over to where Jenn, Lou and Stef were and said "everyone thinks I'm so cool" not realizing that Randal was standing with them and he said "that's b/c you are so cool!". Yeah me! Randal and I had that little playful picking on eachother thing going on as we hung out with him for a while and walked to the corner with him. I have the BIGGEST crush on him. We tell him we will see him sat and that we got tickets to sunday and he was excited for us and told us he would sing to us up in the rear mez.

Saturday we go the show and Randal KICKED ASS. He was so on (except for one weaker note in BHH) but OMG - he NAILED the B in 24601! I cried. Jenn cried...we were so proud. At one point we thought Randal did sing up to us, but we weren't sure. So at the stage door I finished getting all but 1 signature that I really wanted. Let me add that Edward Juvier (u/s Marius) is soo pretty hehe. So we meet Jean from the Randal group. I really like her alot. And we talk to Randal a lot and he says - did you see me sing to you guys? And Jenn said "yeah, but not enough". I said "we are in the same place tomorrow - only in the last ones in the corner" and jenn added "so we want more tomorrow". He promised he would. lol. And we walk to the corner with him for the last time. He is such a nice guy.

Sunday - the day we've been waiting for yet dreading at the same time. We meet to have dinner with Jean (the elevators at the Marriott Marquis are like an amusement park ride!) at Charley O's and head off the show. The excitement in the air at the Imperial Theatre is something that I don't think I'll ever experience again. So Jenn and I take our nosebleed seats. We see Kevin W walk in and take his seat in the front mez center. We try to catch his eye a few times without success. Finally he sees us and tries to say something to us but we are like "what???" He says it again and I catch on and I tell Jenn "he says he'll see us after" - Jenn and I were literally trapped in the corner. But obviously that was not good enough for Kevin b/c he gets ups and tries to come up to us, but the usher won't let him up, so he calls up from the aisle that he'll talk to us later. Okay Kev, got that the first time you tried. So the show starts. The cheers from the audience is out of control. Everyone got applause in the beginning. It was so high energy. Randal was so on again. Not one bad note and I think he's B was better than Friday night if possible. AND the dear sang to us BIG time. "take and eye for eye, turn your heart into stone, this is all I have lived for" was all sang right up to us. Jenn and I started to cry again. LOL. At intermission we go and talk with Kevin. Amy had her dance recital this weekend so she couldn't make it and he was flying solo. He told us that at the rehearsal that afternoon he had 2 passes to the party in his hand and almost got them for us b/c he knew we were coming, but he got busted and couldn't take them. Wow. I like Kevin even more now that he even thought about that for us. So we chatted with him for a while and the 2nd act started and we cried some more. And the audience once again went NUTS. Michael McCarthy's suiced was so incredible. I would love to go see him in the London production (which he goes back to on the 26th).

The aftershow - not as long as I thought it would be. The whole cast stayed on stage while Cameron Macintosh, the 2 French writers of Les Mis and few others came out and made some speechs. Then some HS kids came out and sang some stuff from the show - the Fantine and Javert were incredible for 16 and 17 years old. Dman. Then the original cast members (less Colm and Terry) slowly came out to sing the finale joined by the final cast. As the song ends it is like New Years Eve -streamers and confetti shooting out over the audience - balloons dropped from the ceiling and it sounded like they shot off the last few gun ammu they had left...hehe. And the best part is I look over at where Randal is on stage and he starts to frantically wave up at us...I turn to Jenn and tell her - LOOK, Randal is waving at us. She missed it for the most part and was like are you sure?? I thought I was, but then again..who knows...So we meet up with Kevin and Jean and walk out all together. Insanity outside! TV vans, barricades set up, press tent. Too much. So Kevin apologized again for not being able to get us passes and starts to leave to go backstage - but comes back and says "I need hugs before I go". So he hugs me and Jenn, apologizes and again and we tell him we'll see him in July and he is off. Dman, so close to getting in. Thanks for trying though Kevin. So Jenn, Jean and I get kicked out where we are standing and go stand somewhere else, where we get kicked out again. Jean decides to go back to her hotel but Jenn and I wanna wait for Randal for 2 reasons - 1 we don't know when we'll see him again and 2 - he told us he was shaving after the show before the party. He finally comes out and OMG is he cute! He comes right over and hugs Jenn and then hugs me and thanks us. I say "you know we couldn't leave until we saw you all shaven". He's like OMG my face is so fat and so much older! (he's had the beard for over 6 years). So Jenn and I both rub his face and take pics of the now beardless randal. He asks us if we saw him sing to us and then wave to us at the end. Yay, I wasn't imagining it! He said "I knew you were up in that direction somewhere in the darkness!". He rocks my world. So its time for him to catch a cab and go the party - and he kinda stands there for a second like he wants to hug us again, but the wife is standing right there with Michael McCarthy (she is TINY and blonde and looked so cute in a little Asian inspired red dress). So he kinda just waves and says thank you again and good bye. So Jenn and I in our sadness walk up the block and decide to end the night with a cookie sundae from ESPNZone.

And that is the end of Les Mis...

for now....

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com