newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-09-15 @ 10:42 a.m.

Renaissance Faire


So, Friday night I did not just go home. About 2 minutes after I entered my entry here Donna called me to tell me that we were having an impromptu girls night out. I ended up being me, Donna, Rachelle and Marilyn. We went to dinner at some pub in the village of Huntington and hung out there for a while. I could hardly even get � a pint of beer down before I started getting icky feeling. I realized later that it is the meds I�m on . I am basically physically unable to drink. It was going right to my head as well. Soooo weird for me. Now THAT sucks! LOL. Afterwards we went to Classy Coffee and chilled had had good dessert made with yogurt and a very fattening yet extremely yummy chai tea. Yum.

Saturday Marilyn and I ventured out the Renaissance Fair despite the rain. It wasn�t nearly as bad as day as I thought it would be weather-wise. It would rain for like 5 minutes, and then clear up for like an hour � and it kept a similar pattern all day with � little spurts of rain here and there. No shows were cancelled and we got to see everything we wanted to see. We got there about 9:40, got our tickets and saw the opening gate thing � which was reeeally long. First people I see are Don K. and Dan O � both of whom are playing bad guys but gave me big hugs and kisses hello. We slowly strolled down spend-a-penny lane and stopped to watch the morning procession pass by. Allan O looked at me, recognized me, bowed his head to me and that was it for the rest of the day from him � which was just fine by me. Once and ass, always an ass. Ann is still the Queen but I didn�t get to say hi to here. Chris D was some royal member or something, but I only saw him twice from across the field and didn�t get to say Hi to him either. Karen K was part of the improve company and singing with the �wenches� and the pirates, but again, didn�t get to see her to say Hi. I did get to see and say Hi to Robin F(pirate/sings with �wenches�), Kelly K(maid Marion/sings with �wenches�), the other Kelly(fanny little/sings with �wenches�), cute ex-pickle boy, ex-queens man now falconer, Lionel R (pirate). OO, and Jeff D was back � but I didn�t really know him b/c the year I was in it with him he was um, let go to clean up a bit, if you get my drift, so I didn�t say hi to him. Um. I think that is all that is left from my days there. The Timony�s were there, but I was never friends with them.

They changed the plot of the day around as well. I didn�t really pay too much attention, but Robin Hood (who was very cute) and Maid Marion are already married and this cuter than ever couple. The sheriff � Philip de Marx � is dead and Dan�s character is the new acting sheriff. The Queen was believed to be dead in a sea crossing, but comes back and Don�s character is reeeeaaaly mean and nasty and his char and Dan�s character try to kidnap the Queen, but of course she�s rescued and goes into hiding with Robin Hood�s merry band. The court Harold � whose name is Hark! How funny is that!! LOL. Anyway, he was amazing. So funny and great timing. I think I enjoyed him the most of the day.

Marilyn and I went to the mud-show, which was alright. 3 older guys. Not very much flinging and rolling around in the mud for my taste. We saw the belly dancers � one was really good, one not so much. We saw Trial and Punishment. Eh. Pretty boring. We saw the first of 2 chess matches which was pretty cool. Some of the fights seemed a little boring, but I think they were simplified a lot due to the wetness of the ground which I totally understand. We saw bits of both jousts � Kelly K gets to actually get on a horse with a lance and joust, that was exciting. We saw the �wenches�. I put �wenches� in quotes b/c they are not a separate group and not all wenches. LOL. The group consisted of Maid Marion (um, not a wench), someone from the court (um, once again, not a wench), a pirate, a gypsy, an improve comp member, and Fanny Little from Robin Hoods Men. Why these women would ever get together to sing is beyond me. Made absolutely no sense why they would gather and know the same songs and gather at the same times to sing together. Ridiculous. And although they sounded good, they were def not tight. But that comes from not being a separate unit that works together all a day. Makes a big difference. I saw their 2:30 show, which for me was not bawdy enough. Too many sweet slow songs. Only really good part was their Renaissanced-version of Cellblock Tango from Chicago. Whoever wrote that is a genius. It was incredible and so funny. I am also a little biased b/c I know how good the wenches can be, and how good they were when I was in it. Not to pat myself on the back or anything, but the first year that I was a wench was one of the best they have ever been. Donna will say the same. And we worked HARD to be that good. Now I can pat myself on the back HAHAHA.

I also got a Henna tatoo that goes down my left pointer finger down the top of my hand wraps around my wrist. It's like a string of ivy with little dots and leaves - very pretty. There is also like a small "branch" of the ivy on the top of each of my fingers on that hand. And on my right wrist at the base of the top my right hand I got a daisy with 2 small hearts on either side. Really pretty. Yay for Henna.

Food wise I was very proud of myself. I could have eaten my way thru the festival without a problem! LOL. On the way there we stopped at McDonald�s for bfast. For lunch I had a greek salad, some hummis and some other greek side dishy thing that was fabulous. I had only a tablespoon of 2 dif sauces on the side which were both really good. A bottle of water. Marilyn and I split a funnel cake (yum). And I got a chocolate covered frozen banana on a stick for the ride home. I LOVE those. OH, and I had a cup of mead on the way to the wench set � which went right to my head. Dman this not being able to drink thing!!!

I got home about 8:30, made some franks and beans, chatted with Jenn and Tara for a while on IM and went to bed at 11:00. I was soooo tired. Who knew.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com