newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-04-14 @ 11:21 a.m.

*warning* cranky post


My posts are usually rants or depressing, but I'm cranky today so bear with me:

Why is going to work always so depressing. I really hate it. There are many things in life I hate, but going to work is definitely one of them. Maybe it�s because I can�t be artistically creative there. Maybe it�s because I�ve been at the same friggin job in the same office with the same 3 people for the past 6 years and � years (4/2 was exactly 6 � years). And the job market to switch jobs is insane. There is nothing out there � let me rephrase that, there is nothing out that that is PAYING well enough. Any admin job I see on Monster.com or hotjobs.com or any other site is offering like $12-$13 an hour on LI. Are they on crack??? How do they expect you to be able to live on that? If you have to pay rent, homeowner/renters insurance, car insurance and a car loan � that right there takes up all your money if not more. And that�s not including a phone bill, a cable bill, a credit card, any student loans you might have, eating, gas for the car, gym fees and any kind of social life at all. You cannot live on that. So, it becomes a vicious cycle. Prices of everything keep rising, yet salaries are getting lower. I work my bum off at my job doing the job of AT LEAST 3 people and right now, with my bills, when I *hopefully* move out I will just be able to cover my bills and rent and utilities. If I don�t find a 2nd source of income I will have no money to eat with, no money to put gas in my car and no social life at all. Granted � some of that is my own fault � like the extremely high credit card bill I am paying off and the fact that I drive a car that is too expensive for my income. But even without those, I make barely enough to squeak by. AND I�m not even satisfied with my job which makes it all the worse. I know, stop complaining Madelin and do something about it. Easier said then done. And those of you out there in the unemployed world know it�s not easy. Especially in an economy when people are getting laid off left and right, why would I give up a job with total job security to make a few extra bucks and be low man on the totem pole. Would you do it? I�ll be honest, I keep looking for that job description that catches my eye and I send out my resume. But those jobs are few and far in between, and pay even less. So much is going to have to change *when* I move out in June. I need to find some �work from home� 2nd income. Yeah, good luck to me with that one right?! Oye. I hate pretending to be a grown up.

previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com