newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-05-07 @ 12:06 a.m.

"Are you walking this way?"


So I usually don�t ramble on about meeting people but I can�t help it this time so be prepared b/c here it comes.

So Jenn and I get �word� over the weekend that Randal will be on for Tuesday�s performance. So Jenn and I once again buy tickets on different days and end up sitting right next to each other. Row B center. Yay. I went with NO expectations this time. I wasn�t going to be upset. We walk in the theatre and the absentee board is small�only one replacement and ITS NOT FOR VALJEAN!!! Holy Shit! Jenn and I both start jumping up and down in the lobby like idiots. But, I try not to get too excited, anything could happen and he could bail. So we pee and take out seats. The lights go down and we wait for the 3rd to last prisoner to enter AND ITS RANDAL. Jenn and I both started to cry. I was so excited I started to cry. Anyway, show goes really well, except for the Spanish old ladies behind us who kept talking, and moving, and listening to the Spanish translation devise way too loud. Randal did great. You could hear a few of the softer tenor notes where a little hard for him to hit (he is a baritone after all and has been sick for 2 weeks � we knew he was sick, just didn�t know what of, we find out later with a throat infection). Bring Him Home � Jenn and I were crying like babies. It was so beautiful. Sigh. Rest of show blah blah blah. I actually didn�t see a lot of the show b/c I would not take my eyes of Randal. From the sec he walked on to the sec he walked off I watched him. Oh. I heart Randal. So then after the show we wait by the stage door and wait and wait. Finally he comes out and he stopped by a lot of people, esp for a Tuesday. He is about book when I say, �he�s not going anyway� to Jenn, but he hears me, looks at me and laughs and gets stopped by another family. Finally he looks at us and comes over to us and says �HEY� with a big ass smile. I say �I have 2 things for you to sign, I�m being greedy�. He says �NO!�, then laughs and says, �you can be greedy�. So he signs my playbill and then I show him the sketch I drew I of him and as I say I get bored and start to doodle, he says �you drew this?? When? During the show?� (okay, not the sharpest tool in the shed). And I say, a little confused �during the show?�oh yeah�I�m got bored during the show and just started drawing.� He giggled. I love his giggle. So some lady was standing next to him and was like �you drew that? When?� (what�s up with when I drew it) . So I look at Randal, then at the lady and say �during the show. I�m good.� I thought Randal was gonna lose it. So I point to the pic where I signed it and dated it and say, no, look, I drew this on 4/10). I tell him that when I get bored I try to teach myself how to do human facial features b/c I'm not very good at it...he looks up at me with complete honesty in face says "I think this is great. You did really good!" I told him this is like the first one that I'm actually happy about. Other things happened but it gets all foggy. We talk about how many times we�ve come to see him and he wasn�t there. And he you could see he feels so bad and says he is very happy he could be there tonight for us. Yay. Then Jenn talks to him about how Jean said to give him a hug � so she does. And we 3 chat about Jean and Barb and stuff. Then we are interrupted by another family, but Jenn and I kinda daudle and don�t leave. So when the fam leaves he turns to talk to us some more and says he�s gonna go. So I get brave and don�t carry a watermelon and say, well can I have a hug before you go. He says �of course� as someone says �you�re leaving� and he replies �I have to get home to my dog�. So as I hug him � and he gives a full 2 arm hug and squeezes � and the hug was held long enough for me to say �you have a dog?�. OH my. What a hug. Jenn says �I thought you had a cat?�. He says he does and goes on about his 30 million other animals (cats, dogs, birds). So then another fam comes over to him and Jenn goes to compare her hand to Nick Wyman (M. Thenardiar). As she comes back, Randal turns to us and says �are you walking this way�. Jenn says �no, but well we can�� and it was either Jenn or me who said something about how we usually go this way to avoid all the people on 42nd Street. So we walked and talked with Randal to the corner and when we got to the corner we stopped and chatted for a few more minutes � talking about his throat infection stuff. So he says again that he is happy he could be there for us this time and we tell him we�ll see him this weekend. And we part ways. Can I say HHHHHHAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com