newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-09-16 @ 11:22 a.m.

Sleeping position analysis


Interesting reading from yahoo.com:

Professor Chris Idzikowski, director of the Sleep Assessment and Advisory Service and a visiting professor at the University of Surrey in southern England, has identified six common sleep positions and what they mean.

Crouched in the fetal position is the most popular sleep pattern and favored by 51 percent of women, according to the results of the study he conducted for a large hotel group.

Fetal sleepers tend to be shy and sensitive

People who assume the soldier position, flat on their back with arms at their sides, are quiet and reserved.

Sleeping on one's side with legs outstretched and arms down ( the log), indicates a social, easy-going personality. But if the arms are outstretched in the yearner position, the person tends to be more suspicious.

The freefall, flat on the tummy with the hands at the sides of the head, is the most unusual position. Only 6.5 percent of people prefer it and they are usually brash and gregarious.

Unassuming, good listeners usually adopt the starfish position -- on the back with outstretched arms and legs.

Idzikowski, who identified the positions by comparing personality traits of people, their preferred way of sleeping and the most common positions, said once a sleeping style is adopted it is rarely changed.

"What's interesting is that the profile behind the posture is often very different from what we would expect," he added in a statement.

Hmmm. On a normal basis I sleep on my side with my hands tucked up by my head � and only slightly curled up in a fetal position � as in my knees are bent but my back is straight. So where does that put me? I guess I�m 1/3 fetal, 1/3 log and 1/3 freefall � which I guess would make me a �shy and sensitive easygoing girl who can sometimes be brash and gregarious when social�. Although, I do have a tendancy to wake up in the soldier position�Quiet and reserved?? Me??

He wasn�t kidding when he said the profile is often diff from what we would expect.

Hehehehe!


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com