newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-11-03 @ 12:34 a.m.

Les Mis - Wespoint, NY


So much to tell! Okay first � Thursday night. Rachelle and I made good time up to West Point. I made a complete ass out of myself in front of the cadets. We were listening to my Pella mix on the way up there and as we get to the first gate to enter they make you stop to announce where you are going. I turn the boy and very emphatically state �we are going the Rockapella concert!� He looks at me like I have 3 heads and says �where?�. I say again just as strongly �the Rockapella concert!� Meanwhile Ro is tapping my on the shoulder and going �no, Les Mis. No, Les Mis�. So I turn and say �OOOHH! We are going to see the performance of Les Mis � Eisenhower Hall�. So he let us go. Then the next stop the guy checks our ID�s and makes me get out of the car and pop the hood, which I did not know how to do. I was looking all over for the thing to pop it, and couldn�t. So I turn to the nice man and say, �if you can find it you can pop it�. The other guard looks at the cadet helping me and says, �wow, you are having a lot of trouble today�. So I say �no, it�s me. I don�t know how to pop my hood, I never have before�. He looks at me like that is the craziest thing he�s ever heard and asks, �how do you check your oil?� I say, �I go to the gas station every certain # of miles and give the nice man $20 and he does it�. I think they laughed for like the next 2 days over that one. So we pick up Jenn and go eat and then drive back in. This time I said the correct thing � that we were seeing Les Mis. LOL. Then we get to the car checkpoint and I�m praying it�s not the same guys�and it wasn�t. So I show the guy my ID and start to get out of my car to pop the hood when the first guy comes over and sees me, starts to laugh and says � �no, she�s alright, I checked her out before.� So I say, �come on, I know where it is this time!� and we just laughed.

In the venue the pit space was HUGE. The first row, where Ro and I sat, was literally like 8 rows away from the stage. It was sooo far away. The show was, eh. I was not impressed by anyone really. Not that I am biased but Randal really was the best thing on that stage. The male ensemble was pretty good. The female ensemble was eh. They don�t do much, but they did NOTHING with the little they do do. Fantine (Tonya Dixon), well, she was prob the best Fantine I�ve seen so far, but she was rather big for a Fantine. Although I didn�t notice her getting sick, or being sick, until she was being arrested by Javert and saved by JVJ. I�ve heard only rav revues about Eponine (Ma-Anne Dionisio), but she did not do it for me. I know it was hard, being used to Diana Karina�s Epoinine, b/c Ma-Anne played her like completely opposite. And with her choice, Ma-Anne never strayed and was completely believable, so although I didn�t enjoy her choice of character, I enjoyed her performance. Her voice was nice, but it didn�t fill the room. Eponine�s voice should fill your soul when she sings On My Own. Hers didn�t. Javert (James Clow), was interesting. Sometimes I really liked, sometimes I didn�t. I don�t think his character seemed �disciplined� enough. I feel like Javert should be, I guess, stiffer. Don�t know if that is exactly the word I�m looking for, but it just wasn�t �right� for me. And he always stands with his knees slightly bent with his hips sticking forward a bit, and I know it petty, but it annoyed the CRAP out of me. LOL. Although when I did meet him at the SD he is HOT and very very nice. I might have a little bit of a crush even�LOL. I did not enjoy how they took most of the comedy out of the Thenardier�s and made them more �serious�. Those scenes lacked so much. Mdme T (Cindy Benson) bored me. And I have to say, I like a big fat Mdme T. Gluttony and greed. We got to see the u/s for M T (which was James Chip Leonard) which made me happy in a way b/c I loved him as the Bishop on Bdwy. He did a great job as T. But still, same complaint�too serious and boring. Young Cossette (I think we saw Erika Kiyomi Johnson) couldn�t really sing, but she was so cute and waiflike and a good little actress, that the voice part didn�t really matter so much. Older Cossette (Amanda Huddleston) was okay. I liked her character a lot. She actually gave the character a little life, which was nice to see. Her voice was very pretty, but I prefer the more operatic/lyric sound in Cossette so as to be a complete contrast to Eponine. Marius (Josh Young) was okay. I didn�t really care for him one way or the other. I did not like the Enjolras (John-Andrew Clark) at all. He had one expression and one emotion. He was so boring and there was no light in his eyes when he got excited. Once again, I am probably spoiled from Christopher Mark Peterson on Bdwy.

After the show we found the stage door and Jenn, Ro and I were the only 3 people there (except for 2 guys who were waiting for James Clow). Randal came out and chatted with us for like 20 mintues. Its funny, I think that�ll have nothing to say to him and then I see him and we don�t shut up. LOL. Then James came over and we all chatted for like 10 minutes more. I got 3 Randal hugs! (although one was for Barb) Woo hoo. The first one was so cute � it was like friends who hadn�t seen each other in so long. Then we all said goodnight (sad part) and drove home. Rachelle and I missed our turn and lost like 20 min, but still made it home in good time.

So needless to say, Jenn and I are looking into Boston.

I heart Randal.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com