newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2003-12-23 @ 2:00 p.m.

always a classic to leave the directors daughter in a laundry bag


Snapple �Real Fact� #112: At birth, a Dalmation is always pure white.

Friday Annie opened with a �preview� to about 250 girlscouts/brownies/daisies and their leaders. They were such a great audience. They were loud and clapping and laughing and cheering. Their energy made us work even harder despite how tired we all were and give a really good show for an opening. I think I did a pretty good job as Lily � she def is a lot of fun to play. The 2nd time Mark and I walked thru the well and the Mudge�s some girl said to us �you�re mean� and some people boo�ed us!! I love that shit. Sat at 4pm I was Lily again and Lily was just so much �dumber�.

Then Sat night I opened as Hannigan. I did a fairly decent job I thought. The lines were all there, but didn�t flow as smoothly as they should � and will. Thank goodness for Jenn and Paula who came to see me � curtain calls were like golf claps but they cheered loud for me! Yay for friends. Why we have 2 shows on Saturday I have no idea. It is so stupid. We would have had a decent sized audience if we combined both shows. But, BG lives in the past and thinks he can recapture the �magic� from last time. You think he would have learned his lesson from JCS and J&H. Such a waste. Especially since 12 million other theatres on LI are doing Annie at the same time (okay, so only 2 others that I know of, but STILL). Come on. It drives the energy level of the actors way down b/c we have nothing to feed off of. Comedies need an audience or it�s boring for everyone involved. OH well. Sunday we had a fairly large house � filling some of the sides � and I was Hannigan. However, the show was about 10 minutes shorter b/c I DROPPED � OF A SCENE! Hahahaha! I walked out on stage for my second entrance and I�m supposed to say �Good morning children � then walk down the line and have each child say �I love you Ms Hannigan� to me, then have a discussion about their breakfast and sewing machines and stuff and then Bumbles comes in. Well. I entered and said �Do I hear happiness in here?� which is my opening line for a scene in ACT II. Um. I�m still in the 2nd scene of ACT I. I realize this while standing there on stage, starring at the orphans with completely utter blankness. I had not a thought in my head. Nothing. I�ve never experienced that before. Wild. So I stare at the kids and walk � way down the line hoping it will come to me. But it doesn�t. It seems like about 12 hours have passed and I spot the guy playing Bumbles out of the corner of my eye off stage. Bumbles! I thought! That�s next.. go there. So I say Bumbles cue line �Straighten up!� to the orphans and look at Bumbles with a look of desperation on my face and he entered. WHEW. The kicker of the entire thing is during the part that I left out, I am supposed to go over and retrieve the girl playing Molly from the laundry basket � so the poor kid was stuck in there for a while � a pretty long while. And who was playing Molly might you ask�the directors daughter. YUP. I left the directors daughter in the laundry bag!! HAHAHAHAHA! I come off stage and the dir runs down from the sound booth and goes �Maddie! Any other child!!� I laughed so hard. He laughed too. What I cut didn�t hurt anyone but me really b/c it was just some Hannigan schtick and not plot moving info or anything. Haha. I rule. The rest of the show I kicked some ass as Hannigan if I may say so. I felt much better with the dialogue and thought it went much smoother. I was soooo nervous on Sat night. I haven�t been nervous since my first show ever back in 1989 b/c I know I know my shit. But this time�jeez. I was a wreck. Can�t wait to go back and do it again on Saturday. I am going to miss doing some of the Lily�s I gave up though. But I know I did the right thing.

After Sunday�s show we had 45 min to shove some Chinese food down our throats and get to Ragtime rehearsal. We did the opening number � which is all completely blocked and easy. All I have to do is learn the words to the song! Haha. Jeannine and I are both immigrants and decided that we are sisters who came over together. There. Part of a character starting to build. Although I must admit though that I am a little shocked at the choices of who is an immigrant and who is New Rochelle just based on appearance. I mean, 3 of us immigrants are very pale with red hair � hmmm??? Unless he is making us like Irish immigrants HAHAHAA! Oh, I kill me. I need to go and get the CD. I ordered it from the marketplace on amazon.com, but the bastards I ordered it from, Gohastings.com, don�t tell you it�s not in stock when you order it and put your order on hold. But they don�t tell you this till AFTER you order it and like a week has passed by. Then you get a notice. WTF is that??? I�m trying to cancel my order with them. Don�t ever order anything from them. They suck.

D&J didn�t do any Christmas decorating before they left. So I�m house sitting in a house over Christmas with no tree and no decorations. I got so depressed on Sunday night when I came home to that that last night I went out and got some garland and some lights and some bows and decorated the living room. Just a little, but its so much nicer. So tonight when I go �home� and wrap my gifts, I can do it in a room with decorations. Much better. I�m gonna see if I can get a small fake tree to set up as well in the living room. I need a tree. Kmart only had white ones�ew! And Walgreen�s only had the small 2 foot trees. I�m looking for like 3-4 feet. Gonna try a few places on the way home from work today.

Dman, I want an IPOD.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com