newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2004-04-18 @ 5:45 p.m.

Rockapella - Union & Mamaroneck


Three shows, 2 locations � what a weekend.

Friday I left work at 1:00pm to go catch a train to meet Amy at Penn Station where we caught the NJ Transit over to Elizabeth, NJ where Jade and Laura were SUPPOSED to pick us up at 5:00pm. We call them when we arrive but neither of them answers their cell phones. We eventually find out they are running late b/c Jade has to get pantyhose. Okay. So we wait. And wait. And Wait. At 6:35 we find out they are lost. They finally get to us at 7:00pm. Yes 2 FUCKING HOURS later. I was tired, hungry, cold and now cranky. Not a good combination for anyone. Anyhoo, crisis now over we get to theatre and meet up with a bunch of us Rockapella peeps and I take a couple of pics of me, Jenn, Amy and my chins click here

Things about the Union show: First of all, a different set list for the most part. A lot of songs we haven�t heard in a while. It was a nice change. Elliott did this �Rockapella History Trivia� game and gave out brownies as a reward. It was fun. I knew none of them. LOL. Amy got one right and Scott brought her the brownie carrying the dish like a cute waiter. Amy didn�t want the brownie but Kevin who was right behind Scott with napkins didn�t see that Amy didn�t take the Brownie and came to hand her a napkin and proceeded to try and be funny by crowd surfing over Jenn and Me to get to Amy. Scott had a problem with his pitch pipe at one point. He dropped it and it rolled away and kept rolling and rolling and then it fell down between the extended stage and the steps and you hear Scott go �uh oh�. Two audience members tried to outrun each other to run and get it for him.

The Union M&G: I love that Kevin remembers that I�m an actress and he is always asking me about the show I�m currently in or what show I�m doing next. Very sweet. Jeff liked my hat and my pigtails and was very smiley and talkative to me. Kevin cut him off to start talking to me and Jeff just kinda looked like �wtf just happened?� It was actually very funny. LOL. I�ve never really spoken to Phil before this weekend, but I enjoy his views on a lot of things and can def talk to him for hours on end.

After the show Amy and I transferred our stuff from Jade�s car to Jenn�s car and we headed back to NJ. We were seconds away from a car accident, which shook us up a bit but didn�t stop us from eating at Fridays. I realized that I had the tickets to Mamaroneck and that I left them at home. Shit. Saturday we slept (yay for sleep!), showered, called the venue to make sure I could get my tickets reprinted and that we could get in (yay for Rebecca at the box office who did it for me in like 2 minutes), played Space Invaders, ate at IHOP and headed off to Mamaroneck for a double header. We got there at 5pm (holy early) � there was basically no traffic and we made excellent time. We picked up the tix at the BO and headed out onto the main road to kill time. We decided to all get a manicure and some ice cream (I got frozen yogurt) at Haagan Daas. Yummmy.

Things about the 1st Mamaroneck show: This guy Jeremy got up and welcomed us all and introduced Pella. When he said �Hi I�m Jeremy�, Jenn, who is learning to flirt, replied from the audience �Hi Jeremy �. LOL. The Pretty Woman�holy nipples. She was wearing this negligee lacy/silky little camisole top thing and no bra. She needed a bra. And then once she was in the lights on stage, you could see she was a little cold, and that the evidence of her coldness were both decorated with silver hoop rings. It was MJ�s 100th show and she got a nice cake, which was really sweet (the gesture, not the cake as I opted not to have a piece). Amy, Jenn and I had a fun and interesting conversation with Phil. I like him even more after that conversation. (Although he wouldn�t like me hahaha! Jenn and Amy know what I mean). In between shows Jenn and I went on a search for some beverages. We get back and Lou and Stef are there...yay!

Things about the second Mamaroneck show: Beginning of the show El and Kev come out and look at me and Jenn who are front row and start giggling. So we look at them and smile� and they start to giggle more. Freaks. LOL. A lot of talk about speedo�s and wearing them and not wearing them. �Where in my Speedo is Carmen Sandiego� was a quote from Scott that has an image in my head that won�t go away. Along with a visual of El in a Speedo on the A train. My my my. Jeff was very talkative during the show. I was the final �Don�t Do It� girl. As El was heading towards me I made sure to straight up and bend my knees so that my lap was open for him to sit on (cause that is what he usually does) but instead he just came straight at me and basically straddled me! I finally got to rub his bald head (don�t get pervy on me y�all) but I was all self conscious of my hand being sweaty b/c I had my arms folded across my chest the whole time LOL. I�m silly. Then when he went back on stage he lied across the stage all sexy-like and sang to me. Awww. He is always so smiley and cute and so fun to watch. During LCWIABD (which they only did at this show, not the other 2) when Scott called for backup and El goes to whip out his mic, his mic pack dropped off him and basically exploded on the floor. Luckily all that happened was the battery popped out and the clip popped off. Both were fixed through the laughter and the show went on. OO, and the off mic song was Change In My Life. I was so excited to get to watch Jeff�s mouth without the mic in the way. His mouth during this song mesmerizes me so it was cool to really see it all! During Zombie Jamboree Kevin and Scott got a little �close� during the �back to back belly to belly section�. Scott fell in love� lol. He� so cute.

The Mamaroneck M&G: I wanted to get something from Mamaroneck signed to put in my scrapbook with a pic of El and me. We waited on line and first was Scott who looked up at me and said �Angela? I said no, Madelin � Angela is the short blonde from the West Coast, I�m the tall blonde from the East Coast�. He said �but you are friends right?� and I said �very much so�. So I spelt may name for him as he wrote �To Madelin� on the Pella Postcard the Emelin theatre had there. El looked up at me and was all �I have NEVER been that aggressive before during that song. I don�t know what happened. I just got so loopy by the time the 2nd show tonight came around� I said �I noticed, I didn�t quite know what to do b/c I wasn�t sure what you were doing so I just kept still!� He laughed and Kevin laughed at that. Jeff and I talked about highlights (why do we always seem to talk about hair with each other � lol). I took some pics of us there Eventually we got out of there and went to Applebee�s for a little more hanging out together before Jenn went her way home and I went with Amy, Lou and Stef back to the Nook where we chatted and crashed.

I had such an amazing weekend thanks to the great and fantastic friends that I have made all because of Rockapella. Other friends don�t understand why I like to go to the shows so much. And I don�t go to as many shows and a lot of the other �diehards� do. And that�s fine. I love the music. I love listening to them live. I love the banter they have on stage. I love �stage love�. I love being with these girls who enjoy as much as I do if not even more. I love sitting with them at the shows and giggling over the same things that we both catch. A lot of peeps seem to love to go and sit by themselves at the concerts. It is more important to be up front. Granted, first row rocks. I�d rather sit there than anywhere. But I�d rather �sacrifice� row A and sit with my friends. And I love that we have all grown close with each other that usually Pella is not what we are talking about at all.

Next show is June 18th � Springfield, Ohio � Northeastern Rockapella Caravan #3!! Wooo hooo!!!


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com