newest | archives| notes | contact | design | dLand
2004-07-13 @ 12:12 p.m.

My Dolly journey


If this wasn�t my final tech week of Dolly, I might have actually walked out and quit last night. I have not been happy for a while there, but I�ve been going to every rehearsal and working hard and I�m fulfilling my commitment. But last night pushed me over that edge that I was teetering on.

Here�s the scoop: I�m in the ensemble. I like being in the ensemble and don�t �think I�m too good for it� or that �it�s beneath me� like a lot of other actors I know think they are, even after playing leads. Anyhoo, I told the SM when he cast me that I did not know how the ensemble was going to be used, but that I did not just want to be singing scenery. I wanted to dance and to be used. I was told that they were very excited to have me on board and that I would def be used as much as possible. What a crock of shit (sorry Brad), but it is. Okay, so in the opening 2 numbers sequence I�m in the front some and Dolly even hands me a card. Would I rather have been one of the couples or girls dancing around the street instead of pulling the horse and buggy, sure, but it�s fine. Then we do �Put on Your Sunday Clothes�. I do not come out onto the stage for the entire first � of the song. The leads sing the first like �, then the ensemble minus 7 of us enter and sing the next section. Finally, the remaining 7 of us get to enter and be in the front (if you don�t count the kids standing in front of us) for one verse before we move and I�m in the back. Then the 7 of us get our one verse of glory where we get to walk down the center to the front, but then we walk off to the sides and end the show in the corners of the stage. Granted, it�s downstage, but there are people on the walk that is built around the pit into the audience, but I am literally in the corner. The chord we end on for some reason sounds very similar to �I Think I�m Gonna Like It Here� in Annie. ITIGLIH ends with then ensemble going �Welcome!� Everytime POYSC ends, and I am by myself, no man, no parasol and in the corner, I stick my hand out in a welcoming jester and in my head I scream WELCOME. Hehe. Next, the dir was nice enough to give me a cross. I enter with Donna (the best part of the show for me) stage left, and we just cross and exit off stage right with a slight pause in the center where we stare at Minnie like she is a loon. Next is Dancing. It started where Mitch and I got to waltz for 3 verses at the top of the song. Granted we were behind the scenery and no one could really see us, but we were being used. We were all the way up s/l, there was another couple all the way up s/r and a 4some in the middle. Then Mitch and I didn�t do anything for the entire dance break. That�s right. Nothing. Then at the very end of the dance break we got to come up all the way down s/l and waltz for a verse (about 18 measures) and exit again. Exciting right? So then last week they add the kids in doing a cross and exiting s/l where M and I are supposed to enter. We have to wait for them to exit and we cheat a bit and circle around them to get to our spots, loosing about 4-6 measures. Okay. Fine. Then last night b/c of the scenery and the lighting and stuff the beginning for us is taken out. I�m sorry�what?? And it�s not like they even said, we�ll find something else for you to do in the number. Nothing. It�s cut. (That is what happened last night that pushed me to my limit). Next is Parade. I was excited when I was the first group to enter and that we go to the front. But with each time we repeat our step, we move further and further to the back and there I remain for the remainder of the number, somewhere in the middle or back. End of Act I. Whew. Act II: I�m actually in the waiter�s gallop, which surprised me after how rehearsals started off. I get to start off center and front for the first � of the first section (there are like 7 or 8 sections I think) before I exit. Somewhere in the middle I get to come on for another section � a mini kick line kind of thing. Then I come on again for another section again, in front where I actually (now don�t faint) get to do something more than just walk/march. I actually get to do ONE pirouette! And then exit. And then I end the number waaay in the back. Hello Dolly is everyone in a line across the stage for most of the number so no complaints there. In fact, this is the only number where I really don�t have any complaints. I�m center stage for almost the entire number, with really the only people in �front� of me are out on the walkway. Shocker. Then I�m not in the Polka�I know�another shocker. Oh and there was one other �crossover� type scene where some ensemble peeps are pushing a lamppost or walking as a couple that I was completely passed over for (the director looked at me, caught my eye, and looked past me to choose another woman who is used quite often � she�s thin of course). Anyhoo, where was I, oh yeah, after the Polka everyone reenters for general may-lay and such. I PUT myself in the front and gave myself a big cross across the stage. Then I was put in the Docket scene (its no dancing, just standing and singing) where once again I put myself as front and close to the action as possible. The leads are the front and I put myself right behind Corny (basically b/c I adore him and this is our big scene together! LoL). The other night the dir said like 2 of us should run over to the judge s/l before we all exit s/r. He didn�t specify who, so I grabbed Mara�s hand and made it us who did it. LOL. Then the finale/bows. I�m tucked in the corner behind people except for when the ensemble lines up and actually bows and then for the very very end before the curtain comes down.

It�s just frustrating to me that I�m missing some other non-theatre good stuff and spending my summer nights inside where I feel like I am totally wasting my time. I�m missing Friday nights at the beach cabana. I�m missing a few friends bday celebrations. I�m missing another friends first visit to NYC ever. I�m missing a bridal shower. I�m missing a Rockapella concert with a mini-reunion of all the past Pella members. The callbacks for Dolly were so exciting. We danced our asses off and I know I did really well. This experience has been nothing like I expected. Only good part for me really has been the opportunity to work with a lot of great people and meet some really new great people.

Don�t get me wrong, I think the show is going to fabulous. Our leads rock. The set is awesome. The entire picture of the show will be worth coming to see. Just don�t come and expect to see me. Hahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.


previous | next

Donna's Dads info...*note change in time* - 2005-01-06
R.I.P. Herb Waller - 2005-01-06
The End ?? - 2005-01-04
Sleepy's ... for the rest of your life - 2004-12-29
Puking is not fun. - 2004-12-29


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com